- Why All-Star?
- En Español
Connecticut's New Driver Requirements
So, you want to get your driver's license in Connecticut? You've come to the right place. There's more that goes into it than just getting in the car and going. Here, we'll lay out all of the requirements you will need to meet in order to get on the road, safely and legally.
In order to begin the Driver's Licensing process in Connecticut, you must be 16 years old. You cannot test for your learner's permit or begin driver's education until your 16th birthday. In Connecticut, the new license process is all overseen by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
We recommend you schedule your permit test as you are nearing your 16th birthday. The DMV wait times for a Learner Permit can be 8-14 weeks. As a teenager, you must hold your learner's permit for 120 days (if you take the Full Driver Education Course) or 180 days (if you take the minimum requirement 8 Hour Safe Driver Education Course).
While you hold your permit, you are required to log 40 hours of time behind the wheel. This time can either be done with a driving school (like us!) or with anyone that has had their license for 4 years with no suspensions.
After you have completed the required driving time and held your permit for the required wait period, you will take your driving license test, which is a 20-30 minute behind the wheel assessment. Upon obtaining your license, new teen drivers are subject to Connecticut's Graduated License Laws until they expire or you turn 18, whichever comes first.
For a full step by step guide through the licensing process, visit our Teen Center.
Adults that are applying for their driver's license in Connecticut for the first time must begin by obtaining a Learner's Permit. We recommend you begin by scheduling your permit test as soon as possible, as the DMV often has 8-14 week wait times for a test appointment.
After passing your permit test, you must hold your permit for 90 days. There is no way to reduce the wait period for your learner's permit as an adult. During the time you hold your permit, you are allowed to drive with any person that has had their license for 4 years with no suspensions as your passenger/trainer, or with a driving school.
After you have held your permit for the required 90 days, you must take a 20-30 minute driving assessment test at the DMV in order to obtain your license. Currently, you must call the DMV in order to schedule this appointment.
New drivers 18 years and older are not subject to Connecticut's Graduated Driving Laws. Upon being licensed, adult new drivers have full access to the roadways. For a step by step guide to getting your license, visit our Adult New Driver Section.